Underage DUI Attorney Serving Nashville, Tennessee
According to the Crime in Tennessee Report, there were 4,939 juvenile arrests for Group B offenses, including DUIs, statewide in 2021. Under Tennessee law, it is an offense to drive or operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of at least 0.08%. However, the legal limit is lower for individuals who are below 21 years old. A person under 21 years of age may be facing Underage Driving While Impaired (Underage DWI) charges for driving with a BAC of 0.02% or more.
If you or your child has been charged with underage DUI in your area, retaining an aggressive Tennessee criminal defense attorney is imperative to help build your case. At Moreland Law Firm, we’re dedicated to offering experienced legal guidance and aggressive representation to individuals under 21 years old in their DUI cases. As your legal counsel, we will fight diligently to uphold your rights and help keep your driving record as clean as possible.
Moreland Law Firm proudly represents clients throughout Nashville, Tennessee, and across the surrounding communities of Dickson, Columbia, Franklin, Lebanon, and Murfreesboro.
For Strong Legal DefenseContact Us Today
Underage DUI Charges in Tennessee
Generally, it is illegal for a minor or someone below 21 years old to buy or drink alcohol in Tennessee. As a result, the blood alcohol concentration for underage individuals (0.02%) is lower than the BAC for adults older than 21 years (0.08% or higher).
According to Tennessee DUI laws, a person below 21 years of age is prohibited from driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of controlled substances or drugs, or with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.02%.
However, the penalties for underage DUI often vary based on the driver’s age, number of prior convictions, and other surrounding circumstances. An experienced Tennessee underage DUI cdefense attorney an enlighten you about the nature of your charges and help strategize your best defenses.
Penalties for Underage DWI According to the Driver’s Age
How a driver is charged and the possible penalties often vary depending on the age of the driver:
Drivers Between 13 and 17 Years
This is a delinquent act and will be tried at the juvenile court. If adjudicated, the minor may be subject to license suspension for one or two years and a restricted driving license.
Drivers Between 16 and 20 Years
Similarly, drivers between 16 and 18 years old will be adjudicated in juvenile court. However, drivers between 18 and 21 years old will be charged as a Class A misdemeanor. The person may be subject to license revocation for one year, a maximum fine of $250, and community service.
Some other consequences of an underage drunk driving conviction for individuals between 18 and 21 years include:
a criminal record
increased auto insurance rates
increased difficulty in getting employment, accommodation, or educational opportunities
loss of scholarships or university acceptance
increased difficulty in getting government assistance
ineligibility to get certain financial loans
If your child has been charged with underage drinking or DUI, don’t leave them to face the music alone. Rather, you should reach out to an aggressive criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Your legal counsel can review every aspect of the case and fight vigorously to protect their rights and keep their record clean.
Supplying Alcohol to a Minor
Adults are prohibited from serving or supplying alcohol to minors, even if the person is their child and they are in their home.
According to Tennessee law, a business licensed to sell alcohol and its employees are prohibited from selling liquor to minors or any person who is visibly intoxicated.
A defendant convicted of selling alcohol to minors may face jail time, fines, community service, a criminal history, and loss of operating license.
Work With a Highly-Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney
Facing underage DWI charges in Tennessee can be difficult and terrifying. An adjudication or conviction may have far-reaching immediate and life-long ramifications on the person’s record. Therefore, when charged with an underage DUI, you need to retain a highly-skilled criminal defense attorney for detailed guidance and to help build your case.
At Moreland Law Firm, we have devoted our career to offering outstanding legal services and representing individuals in their underage DWI cases. Our reliable attorney can examine every aspect of your case, determine whether you’ll be tried in the juvenile or adult criminal court, and help craft a strong defense strategy. In addition, we will fight aggressively to uphold your freedom, refute the accusations against you with factual evidence, and help protect your future.
Underage DUI Defense Attorney Serving Nashville, Tennessee
If you or your child is facing underage DUI charges, don’t face them alone. Contact us at Moreland Law Firm today to schedule a simple case assessment. We can offer you and your child skilled representation and reliable advocacy. Our firm proudly represents clients throughout Nashville, Dickson, Columbia, Franklin, Lebanon, and Murfreesboro, Tennessee.